Company of Heroes Preview

I think the best advice I’ve had on doing Games Journalism For Money has come from Chris Thursten as he’s been sharing his “figuring it out as I go” stories. He’s not given them as “advice” per-se – they’re more like unintentional parables. They tend to boil down to a couple of things:

1. Do the job
2. Remember that it is a job
3. Be reliable
4. If you get a chance, take it

So, when I was asked to do a 2 word preview of Company of Heroes 2 on a two day deadline (weekdays, so I had Day Job to fit it around) my thoughts were first: “no way” then “you can’t say no” then “but…” then “do the fucking job Craig.” And so I accepted and I told myself that I was going to be sure that it was worthy of 2 pages near the front of PCG.

I work well with a deadline, diving deeper into a mild state of panic as it approaches until the work is done, and the work tends to come out pretty well, generally. I usually gauge my success by how much something is edited (everything gets edited, it’s a requirement for good work to the point that I’ve started getting Craig Lam to edit my GD stuff) but so long as there are no huge changes required then I consider myself to be doing fine. And it was fine! A few tweaks, normal editing stuff. An article I was really happy with done on a short deadline. Nice.

Really, I don’t know why I worry about this stuff so much (it’s a lot, Chris can testify) – maybe it just comes with the job, or maybe it’s just me. Maybe it’s a requirement for me to do the work to the standard I want to do it. As long as it gets it done though, I don’t really mind. However, there’s always that nag. “What if they just didn’t have time to bounce it?” “What if they’re all sat around in the office laughing” – or worse – “what if it was just ok enough to get through but they’re never going to offer me work again”. It’s irrational, they’re professionals (and really nice guys) so I’m sure they’d say or just flat out bounce it, but my particular brand of not-really-neurosis-but-a-bit-like-it wont let me think otherwise.

You can read the preview in the Christmas edition of PCG, hope you like it.

6 comments

  1. general

    You made some really good points there. I looked on the net for more info about the issue and
    found most individuals will go along with your views on this web site.

  2. Wolfgang

    The outside is the solid black color, creating it frustrating to
    see the coffee which you spilled on it through the years, and it doesn’t really come aside, so other than the filter basket and additionally the pot, your don’t need to worry about cleansing
    it. I’d try to be really amazed should you decide can uncover this particular Western Bend Quick – Drip 10-mug coffee maker for sale anyplace, however you might be confident to obtain a definitely one using the internet, perhaps through craigslist, e – Bay, otherwise Bid – Cactus.

  3. views

    Attractive element of content. I simply stumbled upon your
    blog and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact
    enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will
    be subscribing on your feeds or even I fulfillment you get right of
    entry to constantly rapidly.

  4. website

    I drop a comment each time I especially enjoy a post on a
    website or I have something to add to the conversation.
    Usually it is a result of the passion communicated in the article I browsed.

    And after this post Company of Heroes Preview | Another Journalist.

    I was actually moved enough to post a thought ;) I actually do have 2 questions for you if you tend
    not to mind. Is it just me or do some of these
    remarks look as if they are left by brain dead visitors? :-P And, if you are posting on additional sites, I’d like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post. Would you list every one of your community pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  5. Train Crash

    Terrific post however I was wondering if you could write
    a litte more on this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Appreciate it!

  6. http://www.gamedev.se/forum/profile.php?mode=viewprofile&u=611273

    Vousjusteà gardez à l’esprit que récemment il y tendent à être signifiepour devenir réussie in cettechamp car ysont également de nombreuses personnes quisont prêtà payer simplementà choisir de nombreux expert comme partie defashion. Il est vraiment pourquoi est au milieu très première choix en ce qui concernepour accessoires de mode. Pakistan Fashion également worksavec fashion étiquettes qui pas unIndividu internet réputation etexposer les escrocs à particuliers quiamour leur particulier blouse conception et veutà acheter online. lieu in gagnant et égalementpénétration des médias a uneajouté à augmentantfashion conscience entre simplement femmes mais également hommes partoutL’Inde.

Leave a Reply

